APC governors’ candidates thumping contestants ‘anointed’ by Buhari, Tinubu

Three different lists of “anointed” candidates were given to delegates at the All Progressives Congress (APC) convention in Abuja on Saturday.

The three versions of the “Unity List” were attributed to President Muhammadu Buhari, Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the party, and APC governors.

However, most of the candidates anointed by the governors for various national positions are coasting home to victory — although there is a unanimity on Adams Oshiomhole, former governor of Edo state, as chairman.

On the list attributed to Buhari were: Oshiomhole as chairman, Farouq Adamu as deputy national chairman (north) and Maimala Bunu Yadi, the incumbent national secretary, to retain his position.

Tina Adike was listed as the president’s preferred national woman leader and Lanre Issa-Onilu as national publicity secretary.

On “Tinubu list”, Oshiomhole was also to be chairman, but against Buhari’s “preference”, Tinubu allegedly preferred Lawal Shuaibu as deputy national chairman (north), and Salamatu Baiwa as national woman leader.

The two lists also differed on preferences for the party’s organising secretary. The Buhari “list” picked Christopher Osuala, while the Tinubu “list” went for Longers Anyawu.

The 34 name governors’ list, unsurprisingly, had Oshiomhole as its pick for chairman of the party. While “Buhari” and “Tinubu want Issa-Onilu as the party’s publicity secretary, the governors would prefer the incumbent Bolaji Abdullahi to carry on.

Fatima Adams is the governors’ favorite to lead women in the party.

On Saturday, Oshiomhole, who eventually ran unopposed, was declared chairman of the party.