Modric breaks 10-year Messi-Ronaldo duopoly to win FIFA best player award

Luka Modric has defeated fellow finalists, Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo, to win the 2018 Best FIFA player award.

The Croatian midfielder broke the 10-year duopoly of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo at the ceremony which held at the Royal Festival Hall in London on Monday.

Modric was the player of the tournament at this summer’s World Cup and also won the UEFA player of the year award in August.

Salah’s English Premier League strike against Everton won him the Puskas gong.

Didier Deschamps, whose French team won the World Cup, beat Zinedine Zidane and Zlatko Dalic to claim the best men’s coach award.

Reynald Pedros of Lyon picked up the gong for best women’s coach award ahead of Sarina Wiegman and Asako Takakura.

Below is the full list of winners.

FIFA Player of the Year: Luka Modric

FIFA Women’s Player of the Year: Marta

Best Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps

Best Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois

Best Women’s coach: Reynald Pedros

Puskas Award: Mohammed Salah

Best Fan: Peru’s fan

Best Fair play award: Lennart Thy

FIFProXI: David De Gea, Dani Alves, Rafael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, N’Golo Kanté, Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo