Mikel Agu, Osimhen return to the fold as Rohr names squad for S’Africa clash

Gernot Rohr, Super Eagles coach, has invited 23 players for the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying match between the Super Eagles and South Africa’s Bafana Bafana.

The same group of players will prosecute the friendly encounter against the Cranes of Uganda.

Former U17 World Cup-winning forward Victor Osimhen returns after a long time out of the team, with another ex-U17 forward Samuel Chukwueze earning his first call.

Mikel Agu and Adeleye Olamilekan Aniyikaye were also invited while Wilfred Ndidi, who is ineligible for the match, was left out.

Nigeria, top of Group E with nine points, will face second-placed South Africa in Johannesburg on Saturday. A win will automatically send the Eagles to the 2019 AFCON.

The 23 invited Super Eagles are;

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Adeleye Aniyikaye (FC IfeanyiUbah); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany).

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal FC, Portugal).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain).

Standby: Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Nyima Nwagua (Kano Pillars FC); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba FC); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars FC).