CAF Awards: Again, Salah is crowned king of Africa

Egypt’s Mohamed Salah has been crowned the 2018 Confederation of African Football (CAF) player of the year.

He beat his Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane and 2015 winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, to the gong.

The winners were unveiled at the awards gala on Tuesday in Dakar, Senegal.

Banyana Banyana’s Christina Thembi Kgatlana won women’s player of the year ahead of Super Falcons duo of Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega.

Super Falcons beat Cameroon and South Africa to emerge women’s national team of the year.

South Africa’s Desiree Ellis was named women’s coach of the year ahead of Thomas Dennerby and Ndoko of Nigeria and Cameroon respectively.

Herve Renard beat Djibril Cisse of Senegal and Moine Chabani of Club Esperance to the men’s coach of the year award.

South Africa’s Christinah Thembi Kgatlana won the maiden edition of the goal of the year award.

Denis Onyango, Mehdia Benatia, Eric Bailey, Kalidou Koulibaly, Thomas Partey, Naby Keita, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mohamed Salah were included in the African top XI.

Winners of 2018 CAF/Aiteo Awards in all categories:

African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah

African Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi

Women’s African Player of the Year

Christinah Thembi Kgatlana

Men’s Coach of the Year

Herve Renard

Women’s coach of the year

Desiree Ellis

Men’s national team of the year


Women’s national team of the year


Best national federation of the year


Goal of the year

Christinah Thembi Kgatlana