Nigerian author, Oyinkan Braithwaite, shortlisted for 2019 Women’s fiction prize


‘My Sister, the Serial Killer’, a comic novel by Oyinkan Braithwaite, has been shortlisted for the 2019 Women’s prize fiction

Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut novel was shortlisted alongside five other books–‘The Silence of the Girls’ by Pat Barker; ‘Milkman’ by Anna Burns; ‘Ordinary People’ by Diana Evans; ‘An American Marriage’ by Tayari Jones; and “Circe” by Madeline Miller, TheCable outlines.

‘My Sister, the Serial Killer’ is a crime thriller portraying the close relationship between two sisters and a dark secret on how the younger sister developed a knack for murdering her boyfriends.

The prize organisers announced the shortlisted authors on its official Twitter handle congratulating the top six applicants.

Women's Prize


We're delighted to reveal this year's #WomensPrize shortlist, as chosen by our brilliant 2019 judges

Huge congratulations to our six shortlisted authors: 


12:01 AM - Apr 29, 2019

841 people are talking about this

Twitter Ads info and privacy

A panel of judges is expected to rate the shortlisted books. Members of the panel are Kate Williams, a professor of history at the University of Reading; Arifa Akbar, a journalist; Dolly Alderton, a columnist; Leyla Hussein, a psychotherapist, and Sarah Wood, a digital entrepreneur.

Speaking on the books that made it to the top six selection, Willaims, head of the judging panel, described the books as ‘brilliant and utterly captivating’ fictional works.

“It’s a fantastic shortlist; exciting, vibrant, adventurous. We fell totally in love with these books and the amazing worlds they created. These books are fiction at its best – brilliant, courageous and utterly captivating,” Williams said.