IN DETAIL: North-west gets 10 senior portfolios, south-west 5, south-east 3

IN DETAIL: North-west gets 10 senior portfolios, south-west 5, south-east 3

President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted  his cabinet of 44 portfolios – but there is a certain “familiarity” about the composition. 
Hinging on zonal distribution, some regions have more junior ministerial positions than others, just as another region takes a large slice of the senior positions.
Mahogany Hotel and Suites(Ibadan)
08099887255/ 08083061500
Out of the 44  positions, the north-west alone, Buhari’s zone, has 10 senior ministerial portfolios (including the president’s portfolio as substantive minister of petroleum), but no junior portfolio.
The southeast has three senior ministerial positions and three junior portfolios; the south-south has three substantive positions in the cabinet, and four junior.
The south-west has five substantive positions, and three junior positions. The north-central has three senior positions, and four junior positions, while the north-east has four senior positions and three junior positions.
The north-west takes a generous portion both in the number of portfolios and in the strength of the offices.
In the last presidential election, Buhari got the highest number of votes from the north-west zone – 5.9 million. Though he won in the 19 northern states, Kano alone gave the president 1.4 million votes.
In the south-west, Buhari won the election in four states – Lagos, Ogun, Osun and Ekiti – with 2.05 million votes. However, he did not win in any state in the south-east. He had only 403, 968 votes; about 25 percent from the entire region.
He garnered 15.2 million votes and won the election with 56 percent of votes from across the country.
The portfolio distribution appears to reflect the voting pattern in the last election.
Afenifere and Ohanaeze, socio-cultural groups, are not home and dry with the portfolio distribution. Yinka Odumakin, spokesman of Afenifere, has described it as sectional.
”That is next level of sectionalism in your face, and incorrigibility,” he said.
”There have been complaints about all these things since the first term, now, it has been done in a super way. So, that is the next level. Welcome to the next level.”
Uche Achi-Okpoga, spokesman of Ohanaeze, says the group is not surprised because the president has always shown preference for his region.
”It is not a surprise. We were not expecting anything less. We have a president that does not mince words. He stated in his first tenure that he would not sacrifice those who gave him 97 percent votes to those who gave him may be five percent. So, why should we be surprised that he gave juicy and senior positions to his kinsmen,” he said.
TheCable presents the portfolio distribution according to regions.
1George AkumeBenueMinister of special duties and international affairs
2Ramatu TijaniKogiMinister of state federal capital territory (FCT)
3Lai MohammedKwaraMinister of information and culture
4Gbemisola SarakiKwaraMinister of state for transportation
5Muhammed AbdullahiNasarawaMinister of state science and technology
6Zubairu DadaNigerMinister of foreign affairs, state
7Pauline TallenPlateauMinister of women affairs
1Mohammed BelloAdamawa Minister of federal capital territory (FCT)
2Adamu AdamuBauchiMinister of education
3Mariam KatagumBauchiMinister state industry, trade and investment
4Mustapha Baba ShehuriBornoMinister of state for agriculture and rural development
5Ali PantamiGombeMinister of communication
6Saleh MammanTarabaMinister of power
7Abubakar AliyuYobeMinister of state works and housing
1Suleiman AdamuJigawaMinister of water resources
2Mohammed MahmoudKadunaMinister of environment
3Zainab AhmedKadunaMinister of finance
4Sabo NanonoKanoMinister of agriculture and rural development
5Bashir Salihi MagashiKanoMinister of defence
6Muhammadu BuhariKatsinaMinister of petroleum
7Hadi SirikaKatsinaMinister of aviation
8Abubakar MalamiKebbiMinister of justice
9Muhammadu DingyadiSokotoMinister of police affairs
10Sadiya Umar FaroukZamfaraMinister of humanitarian affairs, disaster management and social development
1Uchechukwu OgahAbiaMinister of state mines and steel development
2Chris NgigeAnambraMinister of labour and employment
3Sharon Ikeazor AnambraAnambraMinister of state for environment
4Ogbonnaya OnuEbonyiMinister of science and technology
5Geofrey OnyeamaEnuguMinister of foreign affairs
6Emeka NwajubaImoMinister of sate for education
1Godswill AkpabioAkwa IbomMinister for Niger Delta
2Timipre SylvaBayelsaMinister of state for petroleum
3Goddy AgbaCross RiversMinister of state power
4Festus KeyamoDeltaMinister of state Niger Delta
5Osagie EhanireEdoMinister of health
6Clement AgbaEdoMinister of state budget and national planning
7Rotimi AmaechiRiversMinister of transportation

Dunamis Kente
+233 50 257 6068

1Adeniyi AdebayoEkitiMinister of industry, trade and investment
2Babatunde FasholaLagosMinister of works and housing
3Olorunnimbe MamoraLagosMinister of state health
4Olamilekan AdegbiteOgunMinister of mines and steel development
5Tayo AlasoaduraOndoMinister of state labour and employment
6Rauf AregbesolaNigerMinister of interior
7Sunday DareOyoMinister of youth and sports

This report is credited to TheCable